IAPWS/SCOR/IAPSO Joint Committee on Seawater

The Joint Committee on Seawater of the International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS), SCOR, and the International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Ocean (IAPSO) was formed following the completed work of SCOR/IAPSO WG 127 on Thermodynamics and Equation of State of Seawater, which created the Themodynamic Equation of State-2010 (TEOS-10). It was recognized at that time that progress needed to continue on the development of relationships between temperature and salinity of seawater outside the range of previously available equations.

The work of the Committee is mostly conducted at annual IAPWS meetings. The Committee has subdivided its work into three task groups: (1) salinity/density, (2) pH, and (3) moist air. The Committee also has expertise in thermodynamics, numerical modeling and applications, and software. The Committee includes representation from industry.


Chair: Rich Pawlowicz (Canada)

Vice Chairs: Rainer Feistel (Germany), Steffen Seitz (Germany)

Other Members: Paul Barker (Australia), Frank Bastkowski (Germany), Stephanie Bell (UK), Maria Filomena Camoes (Portugal), Simon Clegg (UK), Andrew Dickson (USA), Olaf Hellmuth (Germany), Yohei Kayukawa (Japan), Barbara Laky (Austria), Jeremy Lovell-Smith (New Zealand), Trevor McDougall (Australia), Frank Millero (USA), Youngchao Pang (China-Beijing), Daniela Stoica (France), Hiroshi Uchida (Japan), Stefan Weinreben (Germany),  Richard Williams (UK), and Ryan Woosley (USA)

Terms of Reference

  1. To act as a ‘point of contact’ for issues related to the bulk properties of
  2. To maintain and update documents, websites and software of TEOS-10 and other
  3. To encourage the uptake of TEOS-10 and other standards by the oceanographic community by acting as a source of
  4. To globally coordinate research and the development of standards related to properties of seawater across different scientific
  5. To identify developing needs for standards and encourage research in those areas, through small collaborations, more formal Working Groups, conference sessions, or other
  6. To issue reports or other documents from time to time on issues relating to the bulk properties of
  7. To work toward international and interdisciplinary uniformity and consistency of the standards and measurement procedures used in oceanography

See also TEOS-10 Website