SCOR Executive Committee member Trevor McDougall awarded the Australian 2022 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

Professor Trevor McDougall from the University of New South Wales, President of the International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans (IAPSO) and member of the SCOR Executive Committee was awarded the Australian top honour Prime Minister’s Prize for Science for his contributions to the field of oceanography and research on the ocean’s role in regulating the climate. Prof. McDougall is recognised for his discoveries of new ocean mixing processes and his work to redefine the thermodynamic definition of seawater.

The ceremony took place on the 21 of November 2022.

Announcement by the Australian Government

Watch in YouTube

Read article in The Guardian

Watch Cosmos Briefing interview to Trevor McDougall