Intercalibration of Drifting Buoys

Chair: D. Hansen (USA)

Other Full Members: G. Cresswell (Australia), R. Kase (FRG), Russ E. Davis (USA), P. Niiler (USA), G. Reverdin (France), H. Nishida (Japan), and W. Krauss (FRG)

Terms of Reference

  • To design procedures for determining the current-following effectiveness of various drifting buoy systems.
  • To analyze and report on the results of applying such procedures by investigators world-wide.
  • To identify recent scientific and technological advances with drifting buoys.

Approved: 1986

Financial Sponsors: SCOR, IOC