Geological Variations in Carbon Dioxide and the Carbon Cycle

Chair: Eric T. Sundquist (USA)

Other Full Members: E. Borisenkov (USSR), N. Shackleton (UK), Devendra Lal (India), Eric J. Barron (USA), H. Oeschger (Switzerland), E.T. Degens (FRG), J. McKenzie (USA), and He Qi Xiang (China-Beijing)

Terms of Reference

  • To promote and recommend priorities for international and interdisciplinary research by earth scientists who are concerned with the long-term geochemical behaviour of atmospheric CO2 and the global carbon cycle. The group will primarily focus on processes and events having time scales of 103 years and longer.

Financial Sponsors: SCOR, IOC